Home / News / Industry / 2020 Writers Guild Awards Nominations — Find Out Which Shows Made the Cut

2020 Writers Guild Awards Nominations — Find Out Which Shows Made the Cut

2020 Writers Guild Awards Nominations — Find Out Which Shows Made the Cut

The Writers Guild of America (WGA) today announced the nominees for the “2020 Writers Guild Awards,” which honors outstanding writing achievement in film, television, new media, news, radio, and promotional categories.

In the category of Daytime Drama, ABC’s “General Hospital,” CBS’ “The Young and the Restless” and NBC’s “Days of our Lives” are each vying for the coveted award which will be handed out during concurrent ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City on Saturday, February 1, 2020.

Representing “GH” are head writers Shelly Altman and Christopher Van Etten, associate head writers Anna T. Cascio and Dan O’Connor, and writers Barbara Bloom, Suzanne Flynn, Charlotte Gibson, Lucky Gold, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Donny Sheldon and Scott Sickles. Note: Altman retired earlier this year. The episode (TBD) in which secured the show’s nomination included the daytime vet as HW.

Led by head writer Ron Carlivati, the “DAYS” writing team consists of Lorraine Broderick, Joanna Cohen, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, Dave Kreizman, Rebecca McCarty, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Betsy Snyder, Katie Schock

Due to his going fi-core status during the infamous 2007/2008 writers strike, “Y&R” head writer Josh Griffith is ineligible (see story) for a WGA nomination. Representing the show, however, are writers Amanda L. Beall, Jeff Beldner, Sara Bibel, Matt Clifford, Annie Compton, Christopher Dunn, Sara Endsley, Janice Ferri Esser, Mellinda Hensley, Anne Schoettle, Natalie Minardi Slater and Teresa Zimmerman.

Also missing from the nominations list are writers Jean Ford and Fran Myers from “DAYS,” who also went fi-core during the 2007/2008 writer’s strike.

The 2020 Writers Guild Awards (72nd Annual) will be presented at concurrent ceremonies on Saturday, February 1, 2020, in Los Angeles at The Beverly Hilton and in New York City at the Edison Ballroom

For more information about the 2020 Writers Guild Awards (, please visit www.wga.org or www.wgaeast.org.

Related Posts