Awards News

DAYTIME EMMYS: LIVE Blogging 41st Online Telecast

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Kathy Griffin, who is hosting this year’s kudocast, opened the show telling everyone to “work bitch” with music set to Britney Spears’ song of the same now, proving cursing is okay for an online telecast not needing commercials. She added an “F” bomb soon after that. Kathy also talked about how crappy last year’s awards was.

10 minutes into the show, no award has been handed out, but with no commercials, Kathy’s stand up stick is okay…for now. Kathy sped things up and introduced Billy Bush of “Access Hollywood,” who presented the first award of the night – Outstanding Supporting Actor and Actress in a Drama Series.

Of the nominees for Outstanding Supporting Actor, Eric Martsolf (Brady Black) to took home his first Daytime Emmy Award in his first nomination. He beat out “’s” Scott Clifton (Liam Spencer), “’s” (ex-Damian Spinelli) and Dominic Zamprogna (Dante Falconeri) and “'” (Dylan McAvoy).

Bush then presented Outstanding Supporting Actress to Amelia Heinle for her portrayal of Victoria Newman from CBS’ “The Young and the Restless.” This is Heinle’s first nomination and first win after more than 20 years working in daytime television. An emotional Amelia beat out “Y&R” co-stars Elizabeth Hendrickson (Chloe Fisher), Melissa Claire Egan (Chelsea Newman), “GH’s” Kelly Sullivan and Jane Elliot (Tracy Quartermaine). Heinle thanked former “Y&R” co-star Billy Miller (ex-Billy Abbott), who is nominated tonight for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama series, in particular.

Casey Moss and Kate Mansi of NBC’s “” presented Outstanding Legal/Courtroom Program,but before getting things started they congratulated their co-star Eric Martsolf. The award went to “The People’s Court.” It beat out “Divorce Court,” “Judge Judy” and “Justice For All With Christina Perez.”

Outstanding Talk Show Host(s) was a tie between Dr. Mehmet Oz of “The Dr. Oz Show” and Katie Couric of “The Katie Couric Show.” Neither winner was here. The award was presented by Mario Lopez (host of “Extra”).

“Y&R’s” Sharon Case and Camryn Grimes presented Outstanding Drama Series Writing Team went to their very show, “The Young and the Restless.” The soap beat out “B&B” and “DAYS.”

Emmy nominees from “B&B” Scott Clifton and Kim Matula (Hope Logan) presented Outstanding Drama Series Directing Team with co-star Darin Brooks (Wyatt Fuller). “” picked up the award, to add to its tally from the Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Friday night. Jill Mitwell picked up the award. The soap beat out “B&B” and “Y&R.”

Outstanding Younger Actress in a Drama Series went to Hunter King from “Y&R.” This is King’s second nomination in this category and first win. The actress beat out “B&B’s” Kim Matula, Linsey Godfrey and “GH’s” Kristen Alderson and “One Life to Live’s” Kelley Missal. The award was presented by “’s” Aisha Tyler and Sara Gilbert.

While the wrong reel was shown for him, won his third consecutive Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for his portrayal of Will Horton on NBC’s “Days of our Lives.” The actor won over “GH’s” Bryan Craig and Chad Duell” and “Y&R’s” Max Ehrich and Daniel Polo.

While the show has taken a step back from Emmys for the Drama Series categories for the moment, winners in the press room had fun talking. Amelia Heinle and Eric Martsolf so far spoke. Heinle again thanked Billy Miller and Eric Martsolf congratulated on her super contract!

“Y&R” executive producer Jill Farren Phelps accepted the award for Outstanding Special Class Special for the Jeanne Cooper Tribute episode honoring the legendary actress who passed last year. Cooper portrayed the iconic Katherine Chancellor.

“General Hospital’s” Kelly Monaco, Jason Thompson and Michelle Stafford presented Outstanding Entertainment Program in Spanish. The award went to “Clix.”

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series was presented by “The Talks'” Sheryl Underwood and Sharon Osbourne. The award went to “Y&R’s” Billy Miller (ex-Billy Abbott). He competed against  former “Y&R” co-star Doug Davidson, Christian Le Blanc and Peter Bergman and “GH’s” Jason Thompson. This marks Miller’s third Emmy Award. He’s won previously in the Supporting Actor Category.

Underwood and Osbourne then presented Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series. The award went to Eileen Davidson for her iconic portrayal of Kristen DiMera on “DAYS.” This was her first win in this category for her role on the NBC daytime drama. Up against Davidson was “B&B’s” Katherine Kelly Lang and Heather Tom, and fellow “DAYS” star .

“GH’s” Donna Mills presented Outstanding Drama Series New Approaches, which went to “Venice: The Series.” The online soap opera beat out “Devanity,” “The Power Inside” and “.”

Outstanding Drama Series went to CBS’ “The Young and the Restless.” The soap beat out “One Life to Live,” “The Bold and the Beautiful” and “Days of our Lives.” Jill Farren Phelps once again took the stage and accepted the award on behalf of the entire cast and crew.

“The 41st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards” ended earlier then expected with 13 minutes left on the clock.

  • Costa8765 .

    I’m sorry, but I think Michael Muhney should have been nominated for something. He is an outstanding actor, and played the part of Adam Newman extremely well.

    • Abner4President

      There were plenty of years he was eligible and not nominated, which he took so personally and convinced himself was such an injustice that he felt the entire system needed to be overhauled, instead of just accepting that maybe his peers don’t think as much of him as he does himself. That anyone rewarded such a display of raging ego by nominating him after that is all the proof you need that they’ll recognize the work even when the person behind it is loathsome.

    • Fox

      Actually, it was reported that it was Mr. Muhney’s choice to not submit himself this year.

  • Congrats to CBS and Y&R!

    • sands of time

      JFP forever!!!

  • son reader

    The fact that Chandler Massey wrote DAYTIME HISTORY by winning his third consecutive Emmy for his portrayal of WILL HORTON (DAYS) would have deserved to be mentioned.

    • Andrew Hass

      Jennifer Finnigan from 2002 -2004 won 3 consecutive Emmys for younger actress for her role as Bridget on B&B.So Chandler isn’t the first person to win 3 consecutive Emmys but he’s the first male actor to do it.However both Jennifer and Chandler won their last Emmy after they each had left their respective soap.

      • Derrick

        Don’t forget Jennifer Landon (ATWT)

    • Jonny

      He hardly wrote history. Jennifer Finnigan and Jennifer Landon did that exact same thing years back. Albeit…they were in the Younger Actress category. But kind of the same thing here.

  • Andrew Hass

    Congrats to all the winners.Now i do wish others had won but i’m not going to take away anything from the winners.

  • sands of time

    Days of our Lives’ Eileen Davidson is a winner!!! Too bad she will be squandered in a few months!!!

  • Derrick

    Congrats Y&R on stealing the evening with multiple wins and DAYS on winning 3 of the acting categories! Happy OLTL got a send-off winning Directing!
    Production sucked, Kathy Griffin better NOT host next year and the Red Carpet special was a disaster but OVERALL the award show was pretty good with the winners and we did get to see clips of the nominees!

  • Pat

    CONGRATULATIONS TO CBS AND Y/R -But please get rid of Jill Farren Phelps before she train wrecks the show for ever.

    • pat

      and please never let Sharon and Kathy ever host the awards again. Vulgar language just cheapened it.