CBS Inks Two-Year Deal with NATAS to Broadcast ‘The Daytime Emmy Awards’

CBS, The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, The 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards

No April Fool’s Day Joke: “The 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards” (2021) and “The 49th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards” (2022) will be broadcast on CBS, the network and the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced today. This marks the first time the broadcast network will air the awards show for three consecutive years, and this year makes it just the 15th time overall that CBS will broadcast the awards program, more than any other network.

Airing on Friday, June 25 from 8:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT on CBS, the awards show will be available to stream live and On Demand on Paramount+ and is being produced by NATAS and Associated Television International (ATI), which produced Daytime Emmy Award ceremonies on The CW in 2009 and on CBS in 2010, 2011 and 2020. Adam Sharp and Steve Ulrich are executive producers from NATAS, while David McKenzie is executive producer and director from ATI.

For the 2020 broadcast, awards were handed out virtually after the in-person ceremony was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic. “The Talk’s” Sharon Osbourne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba and Marie Osmond hosted. Of the five co-hosts, only Underwood and Inaba remain with the show.

CBS notes that its broadcast of “The 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards” will make it the first time since 2008 that one network will broadcast both the Daytime and Primetime Emmy Awards in the same year. The last time both specials aired on CBS in the same year was in 2005.

Additional information on the awards broadcast, including show host(s), will be announced in the months leading up to the big night.