‘AMC’ and ‘OLTL’ Virtually Shut Out from Emmy Pre-Nom List

The OnLine Network
The OnLine Network
The OnLine Network

The official Drama Performer Pre-Nominations for this year’s Daytime Emmy Awards were announced earlier today, and fans of “All My Children” and “One Life to Live” may have noticed something peculiar: Both online versions of the shows were much less represented than their network counterparts.

Despite the National Academy of Televisions Arts & Sciences declaring last October that the web sudsers were eligible to compete against “The Bold and the Beautiful,” “The Young and the Restless,” “Days of our Lives” and “General Hospital,” only four actors are on the list: Oustanding Younger Actress pre-nominees Kelley Missal (Danielle Manning, “OLTL”) and Denyse Tontz (Miranda Montgomery, “AMC”) and Outstanding Younger Actor pre-nominees Corbin Bleu (Jeffrey King, “OLTL”) and Eric Nelson (AJ Chandler, “AMC”).

Most fans of both shows expected to see more of their favorite actors and actresses represented, but perhaps many of the performers followed the lead of Debbie Morgan (Angela Hubbard, “AMC”). In December of last year, the actress took to Twitter to announce that she would not be submitting herself for a nomination, even though NATAS changed the rules to include “AMC” and “OLTL.” “I’ve decided not 2 have my name submitted 4 emmy consideration this year cuz I just really, really want to move on.”

The actress later followed up her original tweet with more explanation: ““The many months of being told we’re on hiatus but wld B coming bck & then snatching the rug from under us & the fans has been very emotional. So right now the head space I’m in is just completely distancing myself from AMC w/regards of an Emmy consideration. I wil 4 ever B grateful 4 the years of playing ‘Angie’ beautifully created by our beloved Agnes Nixon & our most amazing cast will always hold a special place in my heart… However, with the end happening in the way that it did, for right now, I just want to remove any reminders of our untimely end…& to be honest I don’t need an Emmy 2 recognize how much U all loved the work I was able 2 bring 2 U…Your tweets said it all & that’s “Emmy” enough for me…Smile!”

The candidates announced today will now advance to the blue ribbon screening round, which will determine both nominees and recipients. The final nominations will be announced Thursday, May 1.

Previous Article

VIDEO: ‘OLTL’s’ Tika Sumpter Receives Unexpected Call From Oprah

Next Article

Ratings: Good Week For GH

Related Posts

Read More

Jerry Jacks is Back! Plus Ingo Rademacher Returns to ‘General Hospital’

On the Friday, August 3 episode of ABC's "General Hospital" fans were shocked to learn that Jerry Jacks (Sebastian Roche) was back! This time the mastermind behind the Metro Court disaster is working with Ewen Keenan (Nathin Butler), and once again Mr. Jacks is playing with the life of Robin Scorpio (Kimberly McCullough) - he previously shot her under the guise of Mr. Craig.
Read More

Prospect Park/I.A.T.S.E. Labor Dispute: Early Hiatus? Not Really

On Thursday, June 6, Prospect Park put "One Life to Live" on an earlier than planned production hiatus as a result of a labor dispute between the company and the I.A.T.S.E. (International Alliance of Theatrical and Stage Employees)/Local 52, the union representing stage workers for both "OLTL" and "All My Children," which alleges that Prospect Park has violated its labor agreement with the union. Previously, Prospect Park planned to begin the hiatus on Monday, June 17.

Ad Blocker Detected!

Advertisements fund this website. Please disable your adblocking software or whitelist our website. Thank You!

How to disable? Refresh

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.