Lifetime Returns to the V.C.-Verse with Limited Series ‘V.C. Andrews’ Dawn’ Starring Soap Alums

Close this search box.

Lifetime Returns to the V.C.-Verse with Limited Series ‘V.C. Andrews’ Dawn’ Starring Soap Alums

Lifetime to premiere "V.C. Andrews' Dawn," a four-part series based on the bestselling Dawn Cutler novels which stars Brec Bassinger ("Stargirl") as Dawn.

By Errol Lewis

Inspired by the bestselling Dawn Cutler series of novels by author V.C. Andrews, Lifetime is set to reenter the V.C.-Verse with the new limited series “V.C. Andrews’ Dawn,” premiering Saturday, July 8 at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT and every Saturday evening after that until Saturday, July 29.

Each week, the four-part movie event focuses on one of Andrews’ Dawn Cutler novels, including “Dawn,” “Secrets of the Morning,” “Twilight’s Child,” and “Midnight Whispers,” and delves into the dark and twisted histories of the Cutler, Booth and Longchamp families with actress Brec Bassinger (“Stargirl”) taking on the title role of Dawn Longchamp. She is joined by Emmy winner Donna Mills (“Knots Landing,” “Nope”) as Lillian Cutler. The series also stars Joey McIntyre (New Kids on the Block) as Michael Sutton; Jesse Metcalfe (“Passions,” “Desperate Housewives”) as Ormand Longchamp; Khobe Clarke (“Yellowjackets”) as Jimmy Longchamp; and Emmy nominee Fran Drescher (“The Nanny”) as Agnes Morris.

Joey McIntyre, V.C. Andrews' Dawn, Lifetime, New Kids on the Block
Courtesy of Lifetime

Additional cast includes Jason Cermak as Dawn’s father Randolph Cutler; Miranda Frigon as Dawn’s mother, Laura Jean Cutler; Megan Best as Dawn’s teenage daughter Christie; as well as Elyse Maloway (“The Magicians”) and Dane Schioler (Prom Pact) as Dawn’s siblings Clara Jean and Philip Cutler. In addition, Corey Woods plays Dawn’s boarding school roommate, Tricia; and Helena Marie plays Sally Longchamp, Dawn’s adoptive mother.

Part 1: Dawn (Saturday, July 8 at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT)

  • Dawn follows the story of Dawn Longchamp (Bassinger), who after growing up in humble surroundings with a very hardworking family including her devoted father Ormand (Metcalfe) and older brother Jimmy (Clarke), suddenly has everything she loves ripped away from her. After discovering the shocking truth about the people who raised her, she is thrust into a new family whose dark and twisted secrets change the course of her life forever. As Dawn struggles to fit in, her wicked grandmother Lillian Cutler (Mills) rules her life with an iron fist and inflicts cruel punishments when Dawn does not follow her strict orders. When Dawn finds herself entrenched in the mysteries surrounding the family, it becomes clear that a dark and inescapable curse looms over the Cutlers. 

Part 2: Secrets of the Morning (Saturday, July 15 at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT)

  • After disturbing details of Dawn’s (Bassinger) past are revealed, she finally has the upper hand with her grandmother Lilian (Mills) and orchestrates her move to New York City to attend the best performing arts school. While residing in a boarding house run by headmistress and aging actress, Agnes Morris (Drescher), Dawn still dreams about Jimmy and the anguished secrets they share. But when Michael Sutton (McIntyre) arrives—a new teacher and Broadway star, he sets his sights on Dawn. Dawn falls under his seductive spell but when he suddenly disappears, Dawn is once again at the mercy of her grandmother’s twisted schemes. 

Part 3: Twilight’s Child (Saturday, July 22  at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT)

  • After being reunited with Jimmy, Dawn is finally free and blissfully happy as Mrs. Longchamp, a wife and mother to her beautiful baby girl, Christie . When Dawn becomes the rightful owner of Cutler’s Cove Hotel, she’s able to turn the business around but can’t seem to escape her grandmother presence and can feel her vengeance from the grave. When Dawn discovers that her brother Philip is still obsessed with her and her spiteful sister Clara’s rage explodes into violence, threatening Dawn’s dream once again.

Part 4: Midnight Whispers (Saturday, July 29  at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT)

  • Though Dawn’s daughter Christie (Best) has grown up in a loving home, Christie can feel the dark presence over her and soon is engulfed by a tragic family death. As she looks for solace, she is further shocked to discover her Uncle Philip’s secrets. Fleeing to New York City, she finds her real father and turns to Jimmy’s stepbrother Gavin, who flees with her to The Meadows, the plantation where Christie was born….but The Meadows is blighted by its own dark secrets. Will Christie finally unlock her families’ troubled past and escape the curse that has haunted them for decades?

Watch the trailer for “V.C. Andrews’ Dawn” below.

The limited series is executive produced by Merideth Finn, Michele Weiss, Timothy Johnson and Stacy Mandelberg, with Oliver De Caigny as supervising producer and Navid Soofi as a producer. Finn and Weiss also executive produced Lifetime’s “Flowers in the Attic” and “Petals on the Wind.” Associate producers include Thomas Stanford, Grant O’Kane, Tim Spence and Darren Robson. Linda-Lisa Hayter directed the first two movies “Dawn” and “Secrets of the Morning,” and Jacquie Gould directed “Twilight’s Child” and “Midnight Whispers.” Gregory Small and Richard Blaney were the screenwriters for the first three movies and Alison Bingeman was the screenwriter for the fourth movie, “Midnight Whispers.”

On Saturday, July 8, preceding the premiere of “V.C. Andrews’ Dawn,” Lifetime will present special encore airings of “Flowers in the Attic” and the four-part limited series “Flowers in the Attic: The Origin,” starting at 11:00 a.m. ET/PT. 

Beginning on Thursday, June 1, 18 previous V.C. Andrews movies and limited series will be available on, the Lifetime App and on demand. In addition, the Lifetime Movie Club currently features titles from Lifetime’s full V.C. Andrews movie/series library. Available titles include “Flowers in the Attic,” “Petals on the Wind,” “If There Be Thorns,” “Seeds of Yesterday,” “My Sweet Audrina,” “Heaven,” “Dark Angel,” “Fallen Hearts,” “Gates of Paradise,” “Web of Dreams,” “Ruby,” “Pearl in the Mist,” “All That Glitters” and “Hidden Jewel.” The Lifetime limited series, “Flowers in the Attic: The Origin,” will be available starting Friday, June 2.