Writers Guild Awards Nominations Announced: ‘Days of our Lives’, ‘General Hospital’ and ‘The Young and the Restless’ Competing

Days of our Lives, DAYS, DOOL, General Hospital, GH, GH ABC, The Young and the Restless, Y&R, Young & Restless,
Courtesy of Corday Productions ("Days of our Lives"); ABC ("General Hospital"); Sony Pictures Television ("The Young and the Restless")

Nominations for the 2022 Writers Guild Awards were announced today and this year the writing teams of “Days of our Lives,” “General Hospital” and “The Young and the Restless” will be competing for the coveted award in the category of Daytime Drama. “The Bold and the Beautiful” again did not submit itself for awards contention as it has chosen not to do so for several years. The writing team from “Days of our Lives” won the award in 2021.

Representing “Days of our Lives” this year is head writer Ron Carlivati and his writing team consisting of writers Lorraine Broderick, Joanna Cohen, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Jamey Giddens, David Kreizman, Rebecca McCarty, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Katherine D. Schock and Elizabeth Snyder. Giddens is a first-time nominee.

General Hospital” is represented by head writers Chris Van Etten and Dan O’Connor and their writing team consisting of associate head writer Anna Theresa Cascio, writers Barbara Bloom, Suzanne Flynn, Charlotte Gibson, Lucky Gold, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Shannon Peace, David Rupel, Lisa Seidman and Scott Sickles. Peace is a first-time nominee.

The Young and the Restless” is represented by co-head writer Amanda L. Beall and the show’s writing team consisting of writers Susan Banks, Jeff Beldner, Sara A. Bibel, Brent Boyd, Susan Dansby, Christopher Dunn, Sara Endsley, Janice Ferri Esser, Marin Gazzaniga, Lynn Martin, Natalie Minardi Slater and Teresa Zimmerman

Due to his going fi-core status during the infamous 2007/2008 writers strike, Josh Griffith, the head writer and co-executive producer of “The Young and the Restless,” is ineligible (see story) for a WGA nomination.

The Writers Guild Awards honors outstanding writing in film, television, new media, news (broadcast and digital), radio/audio, and promotional categories. “The 2022 Writers Guild Awards” (74th Annual) will be held on Sunday, March 20.

No additional information on location or if it will be held virtually as it did in 2021 has been announced. For the latest information about the 2022 Writers Guild Awards, visit www.wga.org or www.wgaeast.org.