Home / News / ‘Ryan’s Hope’ Co-Creator Paul Avila Mayer Dies

‘Ryan’s Hope’ Co-Creator Paul Avila Mayer Dies

‘Ryan’s Hope’ Co-Creator Paul Avila Mayer Dies

Thursday, July 23, 2009 1:58 AM ET | By Scotty Gore

(SoapOperaNetwork.com) — Creating the now-defunct ABC daytime drama “Ryan’s Hope” with Claire Labine in 1975, Mayer also served as the show’s co-head writer and executive producer (1975-81) for much of the soap’s nearly 14-year run.

Paul Avila Mayer passed away on July 10th, as the result of a brain tumor.

In addition to overseeing “Ryan’s Hope,” Mayer was also active elsewhere in the soap world. From 1970-71 he served as writer for “Where the Heart Is,” and as co-head writer from 1971-73; from 1973-75 he held the same position at “Love of Life.” After leaving “Ryan’s Hope,” Mayer served as a writer for “Search for Tomorrow” in 1985. In addition, he also wrote an adaptation of the popular play “Six Characters in Search of an Author” in 1976.

Mayer was nominated a total of ten times for Daytime Emmy Awards in the categories of Outstanding Writing and Daytime Drama for his work on “Ryan’s Hope,” winning eight times. Nominated every year between 1977 and 1984 (with the sole exception of 1982), Mayer’s wins came in 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1983, and 1984. He shared his first Emmy win Claire Labine and Mary Ryan Munisteri, and his first nomination with Labine and Robert Costello (who got his start in daytime as a producer for the cult soap “Dark Shadows”). Mayer’s 1977 and 1979 Emmy wins for his work as both producer and writer.

Premiering in 1975, “Ryan’s Hope” last aired in January 1989, after being cancelled by ABC due to low ratings. 
Funeral services will be held on July 30th.

“Ryan’s Hope” airs weekdays on SOAPnet.  Check local listings.

Discussion: ‘Ryan’s Hope’ Co-Creator Paul Avila Mayer Dies