Judith Chapman Reprising Role in ‘The Guys’ to Commemorate the 20th Anniversary of 9/11

Judith Chapman, The Young and the Restless, Y&R, #YR
Howard Wise/JPI Studios

With the 20th anniversary of 9/11 upon us, the Palm Canyon Theatre (PCT) in Palm Springs, CA will present “The Guys,” a stage play by Anne Nelson about the after-effects of the collapse of the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. The show will run at PCT on September 11 and September 12, 2021. Judith Chapman (Gloria Bardwell, “The Young and the Restless”) will reprise the role of Joan, an editor, and Michael Pacas will portray Nick, a New York Fire Department captain. Chapman and Pacas reunite on the PCT stage after last appearing together in the 2018 production of “Blithe Spirit.”

In “The Guys,” after losing eight of his men in the collapse of the World Trade Center, Nick enlists help from Joan to prepare their eulogies. Hearing details of each of their lives, Joan helps Nick compile the difficult, heartfelt speeches that honor “ordinary, great guys in an extraordinary situation,” while he navigates his own emotional response. 

Showtimes for “The Guys” are as follows:  Saturday, September 11 at 8:00 p.m.; Sunday, September 12 at 2:00 p.m.

General admission tickets are $36; seniors are $32; students are $15. 

All active police, firefighters and military can call the box office for complimentary admission, pending space availability. 

The health and safety of its community, audiences, artists and staff is a high priority at the PCT. Therefore, due to the recent rise in COVID-19 cases as a result of the Delta variant, proof of vaccination or a negative test result (within 72 hours) is required for admittance into the theatre. Face masks are required indoors, per an ordinance by the City of Palm Springs. 

For tickets or other information, call the PCT Box Office at (760) 323-5123 or order online: PalmCanyonTheatre.org

The Palm Canyon Theatre is located at 538 N. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs. Box Office hours are Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.