NATAS Announces 2020 Daytime Emmy Awards Ceremony Dates

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced today that “The 47th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards” will be returning to the June presentation cycle for the first time since 2014. Additionally, the awards will be spread out over three nights for the first time ever.

“We are thrilled to add a third night of celebrating the diversity and talents of our Daytime community,” said Adam Sharp, President and CEO, NATAS. “We have seen how the Television Academy’s expansion of the Primetime Creative Arts ceremonies has made room for more honorees to have their well-earned moment in the sun, and we hope to replicate their success.”

The awards will be divided across three nights: Friday, June 12, 2020, Saturday, June 13, 2020 and Sunday, June 14, 2020. Categories presented at each has yet to be determined and will be announced at a future date, NATAS says. As has been the case since 2017, the awards will again take place in Pasadena, CA.

Earlier this month, NATAS announced an organization-wide re-branding and identity package. The focal point was the silhouette of the coveted Emmy® Award statue, which finds the new design adopting a simpler, more contemporary approach to reflecting the 64-year-old professional organization’s core mission of recognizing excellence in the television industry.

“The Emmy Awards are stronger than ever, with new distribution platforms driving record-breaking entry levels in each of our competitions,” said Sharp on the refresh. “The new NATAS branding captures the long history of the iconic Emmy Award, now right at home in the digital age. It is a polished yet approachable design that evokes key themes of excellence, community, and transformation.”

Brand agency XK9 was the lead designer on the re-branding.

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional, non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 17,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.  Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at