NAACP Image Awards to Broadcast Daytime Categories Live

NAACP Image Awards to Broadcast Daytime Categories Live

( — The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) has announced that for the first time in its history, the NAACP Image Awards will honor its daytime drama acting categories during the live annual awards broadcast scheduled for Friday, March 4 at 8/7c on FOX.

Since introducing the daytime drama categories in 1994, "The Young and the Restless" had consistently dominated the Outstanding Actor and Actress in a Daytime Drama Series with the exception of "Passions" actress Tracey Ross, who won for her role as Eve Russell in 2007. In 2010, "All My Children's" Debbi Morgan (Angie Hubbard) and Cornelius Smith Jr. (Frankie Hubbard) took home the honors as mother and son.

The 2011 nominees are as follows:

Outstanding Actress in a Daytime Drama Series

· Debbi Morgan – "All My Children" (ABC)
· Julia Pace Mitchell – "The Young and the Restless" (CBS)
· Tatyana Ali – "The Young and the Restless" (CBS)
· Tonya Lee Williams – "The Young and the Restless" (CBS)
· Yvette Freeman – "The Bold and the Beautiful" (CBS)

Outstanding Actor in a Daytime Drama Series
· Aaron D. Spears – "The Bold and the Beautiful" (CBS)
· Cornelius Smith, Jr. – "All My Children" (ABC)
· Darnell Williams – "All My Children" (ABC)
· Rodney Saulsberry – "The Bold and the Beautiful" (CBS)

"Let's Make a Deal's" Wayne Brady and "The Talk's" Holly Robinson Peete will host the "42nd Annual NAACP Image Awards"

On the web:

  • All My Children
  • Cornelius Smith Jr.
  • The Young and the Restless
  • Debbi Morgan
  • Tatyana Ali
  • The Bold and the Beautiful
  • Darnell Williams
  • Julie Pace Mitchell
  • Tonya Lee Williams
  • Yvette Freeman
  • Aaron D. Spears
  • Rodney Saulsberry
  • NAACP Image Awards
  • Holly Robinson Peete
  • Waybe Brady
  • Awards