‘Daytime Emmy Awards’ to Remain Virtual in 2021, NATAS Aims for 2022 Physical Ceremony

Daytime Emmys, National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

“The 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards” will remain virtual in 2021, The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced today. The organization also says it plans for a return to a physical ceremony in 2022 pending approved vaccines.

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, The Daytime Emmy Awards
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

Tentatively scheduled for June/July 2021, the organization says it is planning a two-night or three-night format, across any combination of currently considered dates on Friday, June 25, Saturday, July 17 and/or Sunday, July 18, 2021. Meanwhile, the call for entries deadline will be Wednesday, January 6 and the final entry deadline will be Wednesday, February 17, 2021. Nominations will be announced in either May or June 2021.

“We at the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences stand in awe of and gratitude for your resilience in the face of what has been — and continues to be — one of the most challenging times in the history of the television industry,” said Adam Sharp, president and CEO, NATAS, in a statement released to the daytime community earlier today. “This awful pandemic has taken from us cherished friends and loved ones, left many more without meaningful income, and forever transformed how we think about our workplaces and public gatherings.

“Like many of you, we hunger for a return to some semblance of normalcy. The latest news on multiple vaccines nearing approval is promising. For NATAS, it is an encouraging sign that the ultimate ‘normal’ — a return to in-person ceremonies — may be on the horizon.

“The current timetables articulated by manufacturers project mass availability of vaccinations for the entire U.S. population by mid-summer 2021, potentially permitting a return to more traditional in-person ceremonies later in the fall. However, we have determined that delaying our 2021 events to possibly allow for a compressed calendar of in-person Emmy® ceremonies late in the year would result in unacceptable delays to our awards cycle for 2022.

“Instead, we have decided to remain ‘virtual’ in the format of our ceremonies for 2021 while relying on a substantially pre-COVID awards calendar. In so doing, we believe we will be best-positioned to return to a full, on-time, traditional schedule of in-person ceremonies in 2022.”

Over the summer, NATAS was one of the first awards organizations to go virtual. “The 47th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards” was aired on CBS on June 26, the first time the annual ceremony aired on television since 2015, and the first time on CBS in particular since 2011.

“Despite being born of unintended necessity, our 2020 ceremonies proved to be among our best. We hope to build on this creative success in making the 2021 virtual gatherings even more inclusive and engaging celebrations of excellence. Looking ahead to 2022, we’ve already started booking venues and can’t wait to welcome you back in person!” Sharp noted.